Harold Edgerton, 1957

In December 2022, Swiss Institute introduces TimeForArt
the first-ever  benefit watch auction to support contemporary art and artists.

TimeForArt is a curated benefit auction of exceptional timepieces from the world’s greatest watchmakers, with 100% of the proceeds directly enabling today’s most visionary artists, through Swiss Institute’s exhibitions, public programs, education & community engagement workshops – all free of charge.

TimeForArt is a biennial auction, and provides a year-round platform for exchange between horological and visual arts.

TimeForArt's inaugural edition will be held as part of the Phillips New York Watch Auction: SEVEN, on December 10th and 11th, 2022.

Philippe Parreno, 2020
While deeply intertwined, the worlds of art and horology rarely come together in meaningful collaborations. TimeForArt seeks to change that by launching the first-ever benefit watch auction to support contemporary art and artists.

The timepieces curated for TimeForArt express the most artistic elements of contemporary watchmaking, and shine a light on the creative core of today’s horology.

With the theme of artists for artists, all featured watches are either unique collaborations with world-renowned artisans, interventions by leading contemporary artists, bespoke examples of innovative craftsmanship or coveted limited-edition timepieces.


Eneuri Acosta Hodinkee
Pierre-Alexandre Aeschlimann  Andersen Genève, Horology Committee
Ini Archibong Design by Ini
Olivier Audemars Horology Committee
H.E. Ambassador Markus Börlin Consulate General of Switzerland in New York
Paul Boutros Phillips
Adrian Cheng K11
Austen Chu Wristcheck
Ben Clymer Hodinkee
Alexandra Cunningham Cameron Cooper Hewitt
Manuel Emch Louis Erard , Horology Committee
Stéphane Gachet Watch Around
Eric Giroud Watch Designer
Alexis Georgacopoulos ECAL
Pierre Jacques De Bethune, Horology Committee
Aldis Hodge Horologist & Actor
Maja Hoffmann Swiss Institute
Daniel Humm Eleven Madison Park
Nazanin Lankarani Independent Journalist
Brice Lechevalier GMT
Raymond Loretan Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève
William Massena Massena LAB
Carine Maillard Grand Prix d’Horlogerie de Genève
Kathleen McGivney RedBar Group
Vincent Perriard ORIGYN, Horology Committee
Anita Porchet Enamel Artist
Pascal Ravessoud Fondation de la Haute Horlogerie
John Reardon Collectability
Michèle Sandoz Foundation for the International Committee of the Red Cross
Martino Stierli MoMA
Federico Tan  Advisory Council
Brynn Wallner DIMEPIECE
Suzanne Wong WorldTempus

    Roman Signer, 2012